Everyone has a mental health issue…

Today, I have been having a low although I should not have one. I’m always on the go and always taking every opportunity I can. When I have a low, I turn to God. I know many people nowadays have their feelings on religion but to me, that is my faith and what not. Although it is a Tuesday Morning at my internship, I turned to a sermon on YouTube by Joyce Meyer.

About-Joyce
Photo from JoyceMeyer.org

Joyce Meyer for those of you who do not know who she is a lady who is Christian author and speaker. She talks through her sermons about her life and life in general about what many of our daily struggles are. She is a great motivator and sometimes I think that God talks to me through her.

 

Joyce’s sermon I listened to hear was about Something has to Change. If you decide to listen to it, I will warn you she incorporates components of the bible in it, which is fine if you are okay to listen to it. Anyways, after listening to it, I felt motivated about my finances and relationships. Lately a lot of my friends, boyfriend and family have been neglected due to my schedule and trying to make straight A’s this semester.

Also I have heard many people around talk about their mental health and I have come to the conclusion that everyone has a mental health issue whether it be mild or severe. I would put mine in the middle of mild and moderate because I am able to be aware of my issues and are working on ways to improve it.

I think the best way to improve any situation is be open to all and any possible solutions. Putting down solutions such as “Oh I can’t do that because blah blah” or “That’s not really how I can do…” Those are excuses and the only way that you can fix it is to be able to say I can do this! I have also added these small but something to help alleviate the issues.

  1. Value yourself:

Take care of yourself, meaning respect yourself and do things that will make you happy like a crossword or candy crush.

  1. Take care of your body:

Taking care of yourself physically can improve your mental health. Be sure to:

  • Eat healthy
  • Get enough sleep
  • Take a walk
  1. Surround yourself with good people:12113269_10153722746363593_1311983200166354767_o

Instead of the “Misery likes Company” change it to “Happiness LOVES company” or another way to say it is Put good in and get positivity out.

  1. Give yourself:

Take time to volunteer or help someone who needs it. Giving a piece of yourself is rewarding when you do it the right way!

  1. Learn how to deal with stress:

Like it or not, stress is a part of life. Practice good coping skills: Try One-Minute Stress Strategies, do Tai Chi, exercise, take a nature walk, play with your pet or try journal writing as a stress reducer. Also, remember to smile and see the humor in life. Research shows that laughter can boost your immune system, ease pain, relax your body and reduce stress.

  1. Quiet your mind:

Try meditating, Mindfulness and/or prayer. Relaxation exercises and prayer can improve your state of mind and outlook on life. In fact, research shows that meditation may help you feel calm and enhance the effects of therapy.

  1. Set realistic goals:

Creating long term and short term goals that are attainable. Saying that you are going to make 1 billion dollars in 2 weeks is not realistic… most likely.

  1. Break up the boredom:

Although our routines make us more efficient and enhance our feelings of security and safety, a little change of pace can perk up a tedious schedule. Alter your jogging route, plan a road-trip, take a walk in a different park, hang some new pictures or try a new restaurant.

  1. Avoid alcohol and other drugs:

Keep alcohol use to a minimum and avoid other drugs. Sometimes people use alcohol and other drugs to “self-medicate” but in reality, alcohol and other drugs only aggravate problems.

  1. Get help when you need it:

Seeking help is a sign of strength — not a weakness. And it is important to remember that treatment is effective. People who get appropriate care can recover from mental illness and substance abuse disorders and lead full, rewarding lives.

*Adapted from the National Mental Health Association/National Council for Community Behavioral Healthcare and The University of Michigan

yougotthisI hope you know that no matter what someone loves you and that it is okay to have a mental health issue but if you want to strengthen and improve yourself, you have to say that you CAN do it and WILL do it, not the words can’t or cannot do it. Those should never be in your vocabulary! Remember you got this!!!

 

Leave a Reply

