What it’s like to date someone with a disability…

*Note- This has changed for the third time and has been restored with some modifications.*

About two years ago, I found myself having a tiff with my good roommate who was moving back home and it crushed me because I thought it was because of me. Little did I know that God placed a man to come be “Mr. Fix it” while I was eating Taco Bell (AKA stuffing my face). Little did I know that was going to be where God placed my rock.

As the month of October passed by, I didn’t know I would fall so easy to this man. I did not know that on November 5th, 2014 I would be in a relationship. I was scared. I did not trust and I did not want to trust anyone. I have been in relationships before and I did not want to get hurt again. I also was scared of not only that but also because he has Cerebral Palsy. I did not know what it was, to be honest when he told me, I thought that he would be in a wheelchair and could not process words. This man though was only affected mildly, at least how I thought about it.

As our relationship has progressed I would get upset if people would call him handicap and I knew that he was no different than me. I have my own issues that comes at a price. I still do not like it when he makes fun of himself but I know that he is able to love himself in his skin which is something that everyone should do.

We go on dates and have time with one another which we consider to be special especially since our time is very limited because of both of schedules barely matching up. He has a full-time job and well I have two jobs and school, which includes being a part of student organizations and a sorority. You see, very hard to get our schedule to match up.

When we do finally spend time, it’s usually with my amazing roommates watching TV, hanging out doing homework, or playing video games. It’s quality time because we are both tired and want to be together. Don’t get me wrong, we do sometimes have out fights, which mean we need a weekend or a day of space to calm down but that’s our personalities and I’m quite impress since we are both Aquarius…

Overall, dating someone with a disability is the same as any other relationship. Their love is probably more than you expected but who doesn’t want someone totally 2548764% committed to them and there for them??? Even my boyfriend told me to write this in late January and I finally got around to doing it. They are like any relationship but better because they never give up on you, unless you do something like cheat on them. That is a BIG NO in any relationship. Treat them the way you want to be treated and take care of them because they will always take care of you. Even when people are against you, take it with a grain of salt because the outsiders do not know your day to day relationship and since they do not, let them think and see what they want. It’s not about them, it’s about you and your significant other who is strong enough to get through it and be happy with one another.

Just some tips for any relationship you have:

  • Communication is key
  • No matter what the issue or problem is, both of you look for a solution.
  • ALWAYS TALK IT OUT!!!
  • Love with every fiber in your body.
  • Never push them away, bring them closer.
  • Treat them the same way as you would with any other relationship.

XOXO,

Britt

Leave a Reply

