Please don’t stop the Music

As for any college student going through this crazy thing called “Life,” music is something that makes my life a little bit easier as for others (I mean I’m currently listening to Rihanna’s whole ANTI album, which is probably why the title is a lyric from one of her songs)1155, I would also say. In an article titled “The psychological functions of music listening“- Chamarro-Permuzic and Furnham in 2007 identified 15 functions of music among students, which thinking about roughly almost 9-10 years later there is soo many more. To put it in perspective, I listen to music ALOT during the day- here’s my breakdown for a typical school day (TTh) versus a typical work day(MWF)

School Day

  • Walk to classes and back home-1 hour and 15 minutes
  • Walk to the sac for lunch- 10 minutes
  • Homework time (like now)-2-3 hours (this varies)
  • If I have to work in the office- 1-4 hours (varies because music is always playing when I have to work)
  • Potential drive to  get food, groceries, or other errands with a car- 1-3 hours.

TOTAL- 5 hours and 25 minute to 10 hours and 25 minutes

Work Day20055

  • Car drive to work and back- 10-20 minutes
  • Working in the cubicle- 4-6 hours
  • Homework time- 2-3 hours

TOTAL- 6 hours and 10 minutes to 9 hours and 20 minutes

With these two different days that barely change, not including when I shower or eating, I could listen to more but a week I’m averaging roughly a full 24 hours of listening to music. I mean this hasn’t changed since I was in middle school. I remember when I first got the Zunepink-zune2 which I loved until I lost it or something, luckily I progressed to an android phone that I could download music to, music I purchased…

I think for me personally I listen to music to stay calm and on task when it comes to things, it helps me think clearly and I’m not alone according to research by Arielle S. Dolegui, she found out that many students listen to music to alleviate the emotional effects of stress and for me, I agree since it helps me focus. Arielle’s research primarily focused on what type of music, type of personality of the listener and different volume levels affected the college students level to focus with music.

When it comes to how I listen to music, I primarily have moved away from downloading music to downloading an app like YouTube or Pandora where I can select what I want to hear or put a station of music I want to hear such as relaxation or Today’s Hip Hop Music.255

Overall, this is great that I never want the music to stop but sometimes you have to take a step back and realize that this corresponds with the Displacement Theory-meaning that there is less face to face interaction and there’s a limited use of time on communication activities. For example, my phone has a USB cord where I can add my phone and play Pandora instead of listening to the Radio. Does that mean I don’t use the Radio anymore, absolutely not but it does mean that I don’t use it as much as I could.

Just as I never want the music to stop, I do not think it will especially with artists always trying to make it big like Rihanna, Beyoncé, or Luke Bryan. You can obviously tell I have a wide variety of music I listen to but how else could I not get bored with it when I listen to at least a full days of music.

 

All Gifs are from GIPHY.com*

 

 

Leave a Reply

