Am I scared to die or am I scared of new Iphone26?

Let me start off saying that for my assignment in my Comm 303 class, I had to read and react to this article titled “The Terrifying Truth About New Technology” that was written in 2011. I will say as the person I am, which is a “doer” meaning I want to do anything and everything and get it done efficiently or as soon as I can I was interested what this article would be like.

“We think we’re afraid of the technology. But we’re really afraid of getting old.” dyingThis was the first thing that caught my eye and it’s interesting because I agree with this statement however, technology isn’t the reason what I’m afraid of, it’s that I’m afraid of how and when I will die as I grow old every day. I try hard not to think about it and achieve everything I am doing in front of myself.

As I kept reading, the author talked about adults assimilating to new technology. The author references himself when he tries to uses a typewriter but realizes it doesn’t have an on switch as it should if it was here. I have been in his place, I have had moments when I have tried to yell at other Apple devices such as an Ipad as if Siri will hear me and do what I need her to do.siri

The author goes into another example, one giving the example of Foursquare. As a young person when the author wrote this in 2011 (16 years old, which means I’m pretty young) and it’s now 2016 (21 years old, young but learning how to grow up because I graduate in a year at the age of 22), I have never used Foursquare nor have the yearn to do so. Why would I share my location at that age or even now with a bunch of complete strangers when I can do it when and where with my close friends and family.

The older generation that I help teach new technology has said the very same statements that the author references here “Why are we so nostalgic about the technology we grew up with? Old people say things like: “This new technology is stupid. I liked (new, digital) technology X better when it was called (old, analog) technology Y.

old-people

Why, back in my day….” Which leads inexorably to, “I just don’t get it.” My godmother is someone who says these phrases every time she purchases a new technology device that I have to help her set up and learn how to use it.

 

The one thing that the author references, other than “Robopocalypse” is this quote “Each new generation builds on the work of the previous one, gaining new perspective. New verbs are introduced. We Google strange  and dangerous places. We tweet mindlessly to the cosmos. We Facebook our own grandmothers.”  I Totally agree, it’s the perspective that enhances the work. That’s why many people say to think outside of the box. That’s why elementary schools push certain students into accelerated programs to enhance them and teach them skills to adapt and bring new perspectives.

At first, I didn’t exactly know what I would read about especially from when the author opened up about how his statement on being afraid to die but as a person who

to-do-list
Me on a daily basis looking at my to-do list.

continuously growing through this re-vamped technology age, it’s not worries me more on the media dependency as much as when my hurt will stop from all the things I do on a weekly basis.

 

*ALL GIFs are from GIPHY.COM*

Leave a Reply

