Video Games- The new de-stress mechanism.

Video games, a lot of thought video-gameson this topic weighs heavy on me. I’m not sure where to start… I feel that the first thing I think of when it comes to video games is an Xbox or a PlayStation but as I am learning in my communication technology class, it’s more than console games. Video games include computer games (back in the 1970s), arcade games, cellphone games, social gaming and portable games such as a Nintendo DS.

For me, as I was growing up, there was not as many “video” games to play. Yes, as I have stated in my last blog that I played games on my computer like ““Where in the world is Carmen Sandiego?” but I don’t remember playing as many. I think at one point when green-gamboyGameboy’s were going out of style, I got one and it was green. I can’t recall the games I had but I did enjoy putting them in and out of the system. I got into playing on video game consoles when I was in high school, dating my first boyfriend. We would play Grand Theft Auto (GTA). I loved that game, absolutely loved it. A year later, I got my own console at my house on Christmas. I stayed up playing all night into the morning, you know because I didn’t have any real responsibilities nor school.

Which according to Time Tech, one of the GTA video games was number 16 on the Top 50th all-time video games. Some other ones that cross reference the book and most of us know are Tetris (#1), Oregon Trail, Call of Duty, NB2K *insert year*, Legend of Zelda, Super Mario, Pac Man, Minecraft, World of Warcraft, and of course Angry Birds. gta

It’s interesting to me because I feel that I could argue that video games are horrible for you because of the time consumption, addictiveness and also government regulation but for me, our textbook speaks about Sandy Hook Laws, but even before that happened, a case in California was brought to the courts (Brown v. Entertainment Merchants Association) about how the 1st and 14th amendment applied in regards to restrictions and labeling games because of potential psychological or neurological harm to minors. My point is even with the attacking on video games, they could potentially help alleviate stress as well as anger. For me playing GTA, I would just drive around recklessly, I know in the real world that I could not do that for the time I spent playing the game, it relaxed me enough to where I could just feel at ease. Yes, that may sound crazy but think of it in the way that you have games on your phone (if space permits), you may have Candy Crush, Farmville or something in that nature where you have it with you 24/7 as long as the game doesn’t have time-lapse, unless you pay real money so you can keep playing.

In a way, when games have those type of time limits, it seems in theory like a good thing because then you can focus on other things but in all actuality, you start to play and cannot stop. Game is continually growing, especially when it comes to social gaming, think about Words with Friends or even candy-crushCandy Crush (sharing your metrics). Those around me that play video games, seem to play them when they can, which makes sense because most of the people around me are in college. I have a cousin who plays just Minecraft, Call of Duty and some other war games. He’s 9 years old and sometimes I worry since he’s played video games since he was 4 that he will grow up with a violent attitude but for him, he has more law and order in his life than most of us. He knows that Cops are good and are there to help protect but he also knows what’s right and what’s wrong. Granted his mother limits him as well as watches him while he is on chat but for his ageminecraft, he behaves well in school as well as at home.

Overall, Video games need to be played in short periods whether it be online, on a console, phone, or tablet. Video games can be harmless and helpful as long as they are played in moderation. According to PEW Research, about half of Americans play video games on some type of software. It’s a great stress reliever, especially in the type of world we live in. As we progress more into this advanced era of technology, this type of technology will lead to many different information processes as well as new gaming systems and types. Who knows we may have channels in the future where you can play games and I’m not just talking about the Game Show Network, where you yell at the TV your answer…

*ALL GIFs are from GIPHY.com*

Leave a Reply

