Follow me @…

As the semester is coming to a close and Thanksgiving Day being a week away, it’s safe that social media for me is starting to slow down. Especially since finals are a lot closer than they have been. For this blog, I will give another report on my personal use of social media. You may remember when I wrote aboutSocial Media in the eyes of an AnalystIn the previous blog, I explained what social media was and how it’s not just about connecting one another but also communicating thoughts, actions and emotions.

blog10
Snapchat filters sponsored by Starbucks.

 

I feel that as I started with Myspace and now stay up with FITS (Facebook, Instagram, Twitter, and Snapchat) but I feel that when you use social media in moderation and don’t let it control your life, then it can be very beneficial. I don’t consider myself like the Kardashians where I’m constantly posting content. Compared to them, I am the type of person who shares the content on Facebook. If I see an event or something for work, I’ll repost it. For other platforms such as Instagram, Twitter and Snapchat I generate content based on what’s happening or what I am doing.

blog-10-2
Actual Tweets of how I felt about the CFP…

 

For example, I may post with a sad face filter that I’m upset with the

College Football Playoff Committee because they did NOT put Louisville in the top 4 when all of the top 4 loss except the Crimson Tide. I then will probably post on Twitter my anger, I may even get more upset and call them out by “@ing” them.

As I am growing up and as college gets busier, social media is sometimes very hard for me to keep up especially in regards to posting, keeping snap streaks as well. I do think it helps me keep up with my family not just in Louisville but across the state and world. I love being able to connect with a friend or family member who is not next to me or in the same city. I always keep up with the friends I make a conferences such as FBLA (Future Business Leaders of America) in high school on Facebook.

 Social media in this day and age is imperative to use in moderation. A lot of people who use social media, are NOT aware of how to use it properly nor realize what they put on the web is FOREVER. Trust me, what you put out will be there longer than your relationship. Many people need to also learn to realize how to use it,

blog10-1
Since these are the new memes and is accurate to how I feel about social media…

 

especially when it comes to controversial issues such as who will be president. Many people can put what they want on the internet but it’s the level and knowledge of respect to understand that someone may not have the same views. People who use social media need to be aware that people are not going to think just as the same as you add it on there but also respect that they disagree as well. A video that I go back to and always refer to when it comes to how social media affects you because of its revolution on our generation.

Look at the facts showed in this video by AsapSCIENCE explaining how it changes your brain especially right now, this is just some of the information that I gathered or maybe to entice you to watch this 3 minutes and a half video!

  • 5-10% of internet users cannot control how much time they spend online.
  • Think that people who switch from social media sites and communication technology are better at multi-tasking? WRONG, it actually reduces interferences that make it harder for you to commit things to memory.
  • Phantom Vibration Syndrome- Oh is that your phone vibrating? Oh wait, that’s just you thinking it’s happening, when it’s not.
  • Dopamine- Major releases when a person speaks about themselves and their past achievements, an example is of myself when I posted about applying to graduate in May!

    screenshot-2016-11-16-23-21-29
    Photo I posted on my Facebook about applying to graduate!

     

    #GetThemLikes

As I end this blog post so that you can check your social media platforms, Take a selfie and add it to comments on here! Also take away to be cautious what you put on social media and take social media in moderation so you do not burn out!

 

Leave a Reply

